Besides: Alkaline Trio - The Heart & Skull Collection

Posted: Monday, March 8, 2010 by Fashion Munx in Labels: , , ,

So some of you may or may not know but this blog takes it's name from a song by Alkaline Trio called "San Francisco". I'm not sure why I chose it other than thinking it was a funny musical reference. I don't think even I realized how much I really loved the band until I embarked on creating this three "disc" collection of non-LP material. In the past decade AK3 has released two such collections but there was enough material left over for another. So what did I do? I decided to make my own and split it up into b-sides, studio demos and acoustic songs.

The first "disc" is the b-sides, many of which happen to be covers, so I structured this disc to represent the band's influences. The ruckus intensity of the band's early work can be heard in the 80's hardcore punk of The Misfits and Nomeansno. Matt Skiba's flair for the gothic and dramatic in his lyrics can be seen in TSOL, the Sisters of Mercy and the Rocky Horror soundtrack representing in another crop of covers. A love for the great pop-punk history of their own city can be heard in the familiar sounds of the Smoking Popes and Pegboy renditions. Finally, the band reveals what has drawn them toward the full pop-rock sound of their current work with covers of The Cars and The Psychedelic Furs.

The second part to this Skiba/Adriano love-in I've got going on is packed full of studio demos from the band's 1996 demo tape, to bits from the LP's "From Here To Infirmary", "Crimson" and "Agony & Irony". As well as, demos of b-sides like "War Brain" and "Burned Is The House". This "disc" was made to represent the band's process, how they take The Misfits, Smoking Popes and The Cars and work it into the unique sound we all love or hate.

The last piece of this collection is full of acoustic versions of songs the band recorded for their LP's as a full band. After all is said and done it comes together for a little deconstruction. In some cases I like these stripped down versions of songs better than their originals, "Fine" for instance. The two songs that open up this disc "Snake Oil Tanker" and a live acoustic cover of Tegan and Sara's great "Wake Up Exhausted" I chose to start things off not only because of chronology but also they reveal the band's lighter side which is a lot of their charm that they don't take the gloom and doom too seriously.

Thanks to Pants for the artwork, enjoy:


  1. Andrew says:

    man i love your blog hey, its awesome

  1. James says:

    good work putting these discs together. this is one of the more 'legit' homemade collections i've seen. i have what seems like endless amounts of trio folders on my hard drive, but even this has some stuff i was missing. it's amazing how much unreleased/hard to find material this band has. just adds to the thrill of hunting down everything possible.

  1. Man, I am so bummed that the download links aren't online anymore, because I really want these compilations. Any chance you can upload them again? Thanks anyway!

  1. Says I need a password to download :(

  1. Never mind I Got it. Yay Thank you so friggin much.

  1. Matt K says:

    what are the passwords?

  1. M@rc3l says:

    have no idea what the password is :(

  1. M@rc3l says:

    sorry but the 3rd link doesn't work, do you mind posting it again, please??

  1. Would you please tell me what the password is? My boyfriend is a huge Alkaline Trio fan and I was hoping to maybe get him a few songs he doesn't have, as part of his birthday gift.

  1. Darren says:

    hey any chance I could have 2 and 3? I downloaded them before (many thanks my dude) but my ipod took a crap and now its saying permission denied

  1. Hi, any chance these compilations can be shared again? The links above are now dead