Besides: Warren G - Unregulated (The First Ten Years)

Posted: Wednesday, December 21, 2011 by Fashion Munx in Labels: , ,

Warren G is a really underrated producer and in part I think it hasa lot  to do with  some bad luck. Starting out with the original Death Row Records crew with his childhood friends Snoop Doggy Dogg and Nate Dogg, Warren was one of the many producers that helped pick samples and program beats for Dr. Dre to go to work when constructing instrumentals for his classic album The Chronic and Snoop Doggy Dogg's Doggystyle. However, like many of those younger producers, didn't get any credit since it was felt that Dre is the one who really made "the magic" and the one with the rep and the name. Furthermore, while Snoop and Nate were given contracts by Death Row Records, Warren was not. He was the one that got Snoop and Nate there in the first place! According to Warren Suge didn't really like him. This was probably one of the reasons that Warren's raps were taken off of Tha Dogg Pound's classic single "Let's Play House". Being featured on "Let's Play House" would have worked wonders for keeping him in the public eye during the long wait between Regulate and Take A Look Over Your Shoulder. Label politics continued to get in the way as certain songs he did were left off albums during the 90s as Def Jam didn't want the negativity to surround their artists. His earliest recorded hit was "Indo Smoke" with Mista Grimm which generated considerably buzz but unfortunately Mr. Grimm's album was shelved and Warren couldn't capitalize on another potentially helpful association. Another problem for Warren is he tended to not produce for other artists. Aside from notable songs for 2Pac's Thug life and MC Breed, Warren mostly kept his beats to himself or his unsuccessful proteges. The final nail in Warren G's career as a top name in hip-hop came when he was sued by Garth Brooks in 1998 which likely lead to him being dropped from Def Jam records and him having to release I Want It All to little promotion in 1999, the album had a freaking amazing Dr. Dre produced single and it still did nothing. So these are probably some factors as to why even though Warren G is an extremely talented producer and has released 6 very solid and consistent albums most people only know his music from the song "Regulate". So as a tribute to Warren I've gone and collected all the remixes, freestyles, compilation and unreleased tracks that exist from 1993 to 1999. Enjoy!



1. Indo Smoke (feat. Mista Grimm & Nate Dogg)
2. Regulate [G-Funk Remix] (feat. Nate Dogg)

3. Do You See [Stepz Remix]
4. So Many Ways [ Bad Boys Version]
5. This DJ [Dobie Rub Remix]
6. When We Sippin' On Tha Bew
7. G-Funkin' On Power 106
8. Still Can't Fade It (feat. The Twinz & Bo Roc)
9. Respect Freesytle
10. We Want Yo Hands Up (feat. Mr. Malik)
11. I Got 5 On It Freestyle (feat. The Twinz)
12. What We Go Thru [Original Version] (feat. Bad Azz, Mr. Malik & Tha Dogg Pound)
13. I Shot The Sheriff [EPMD Remix]
14. What's Love Got To Do With It (feat. Adina Howard)
15. Prince Igor [Ries Class Jazz Extended] (feat. Sissel)
16. Friends (feat. Val Young)
17. Game Don't Wait [Remix] (feat. Nate Dogg, Snoop Dogg & Xzibit)

  • 1 is from the Poetic Justice OST. 1993. Epic Records.
  • 2 & 5 are from This DJ 12". 1994. Rush Associated Labels.
  • 3 is from Do You See UK 12". 1995. Rush Associated Labels.
  • 4 is from the Bad Boys OST. 1995. Work Records.
  • 6 is from St. Ides '94. 1994.
  • 7, 9 & 12 are not commercially available.
  • 8 is from The Show OST. 1995. Def Jam Recordings.
  • 10 is from The Nutty Professor OST. 1996. Def Jam Recordings.
  • 11 is from Vinyl Kombat. 1996.
  • 13 is from I Shot The Sheriff (EPMD Remixes). 1997. Def Jam Recordings.
  • 14 is from the Supercop OST. 1996. Interscope Records.
  • 15 is from The Rapsody 12". 1997. Def Jam Recordings.
  • 16 is from the Good Burger OST. 1997. Capitol Records.
  • 17 is from the Game Don't Wait 12". Restless Records.


  1. scjoha says:

    Excellent work, meticulously copiled! Gotta get familiar with Warren's non-album catalog now. Thanks!